Home

Flatliners review

Flatliners was a film that was released back in 1990, and I quite enjoy that film, even though the overall product has many issues of its own. I didn't see the reason for a remake, but I could see potential in improving it, so I was open-minded. Sadly, Flatliners is one of the worst films I've seen all year Deep in the bowels of a university's medical school, a group of students intentionally kill themselves for minutes at a time to experience what lies beyond. This is a fabulous idea for a movie, but unfortunately Flatliners represents the second failed attempt to do it justice. It's not a terrible film, and neither was the original Audience Reviews for Flatliners Med students explore to see what might lie beyond death might be the advertisement, but what one gets is the old bait-and-switch. Instead of that exploration we.

Flatliners had every opportunity to improve on the original, and it doesn't take most of them. It falls flat as a horror movie but the cast is good enough, and the sci-fi concepts are interesting enough, to keep it from crashing completely. Read full review Almost 30 years after Joel Schumacher's hit, another group of med students tries to cheat death in Niels Arden Oplev's remake. How many Do Not Resuscitate jokes will be made about Flatliners. Parents need to know that Flatliners is a remake of a 1990 thriller about medical students who flatline (i.e., die) to try to find out what happens after death. The original movie was smart enough to know how ridiculous it was, but this remake lacks that self-awareness The young heroes of Flatliners want to visit that land of light and music, and return to tell the story. So they devise a dangerous experiment in which, one after another, they'll deliberately create a condition of clinical death, sample the afterlife experience, and then be brought back to life by emergency measures On review aggregation website Rotten Tomatoes, the film has an approval rating of 4% based on 67 reviews and an average rating of 3.6/10. The site's critical consensus reads, Flatliners falls flat as a horror movie and fails to improve upon its source material, rendering this reboot dead on arrival

Flatliners (2017) - Flatliners (2017) - User Reviews - IMD

Flatliners Movie Review & Film Summary (2017) Roger Eber

Flatliners is a stylish, eerie psychological horror film laced with wit, a movie that thrives on its characters' guilty secrets and succeeds on the strength of the director Joel Schumacher's flair for just this sort of smart, unpretentious entertainment Flatliners is an unmemorable redux hampered by poor writing and a general lack of thrills that fails to capture the attention of its audience. The screenplay, credited to Ben Ripley, is arguably Flatliners' weakest link. Its first act is awkwardly designed, consisting of disconnected scenes that attempt to introduce the ensemble and their.

Directed by Niels Arden Oplev. With Ellen Page, Diego Luna, Nina Dobrev, James Norton. Five medical students, obsessed by what lies beyond the confines of life, embark on a daring experiment: by stopping their hearts for short periods, each triggers a near-death experience - giving them a firsthand account of the afterlife A remake of the 1990 film of the same name, it's the story of a group of med students experimenting with death to find proof of an afterlife. Here's my review of FLATLINERS! See more videos by. Why is Flatliners rated PG-13? The PG-13 rating is for violence and terror, sexual content, language, thematic material, and some drug references. Latest news about Flatliners, starring Ellen Page, Nina Dobrev, Diego Luna, James Norton, Kersey Clemons, Kiefer Sutherland and directed by Niels Arden Oplev Sep 29, 2017 · The best that can be said about the Flatliners remake is that the new filmmaking team of writer Ben Ripley and director Niels Arden Oplev makes the original's members look like peerless masters. Flatliners (2017) Synopsis. Find theater showtimes, watch trailers, read reviews and buy movie tickets in advance. Help My Fandango Live Chat. About.

Flatliners (1990) - Rotten Tomatoe

The new Flatliners? Don't bother. You can probably think of all the best and worst puns that we could load into this review without even seeing Flatliners.So, with apologies in advance, there's no. Today is a good day to die! says Nelson, an ambitious and fame-seeking medical student. Recruiting four other students for a daring, arrogant experiment in which they plan to see what lies beyond life, they take turns stopping their hearts until the monitors that read their vital signs indicate nothing but flat lines: i.e., they are dead

'Flatliners' Review: Unremarkable Remake Flashes Before Your Eyes And in one surprising deviation from the 1990 film, this Flatliners makes good on the title's threat by having one. In his C review, EW's Christian Holub called the film a confused mess. We live in an age of unnecessary remakes, he writes, but the new Flatliners movie, by Danish director Niels. The reviews are in for the remake of the 1990s science fiction horror film Flatliners, and so far the consensus is that the film is dead on arrival. The film follows the same premise as the.

'Flatliners (2017)': Review. The original Flatliners achieved a domestic gross in excess of $60 million in 1990, was Oscar-nominated and made the top 20 box-office hits of the year. It still. This film barely has a pulse. Is Flatliners 2017 a remake, reboot, or a sequel? It depends on who you ask. When Kiefer Sutherland discussed his cameo with Metro last August, he stated: I play a professor at the medical university 'Flatliners' Review: This Thriller Remake Is a 'Fright Free-Fiasco' Peter Travers. 9/29/2017. Fay McKenzie, Gene Autry's co-star in 5 movie westerns, dies at 101 Flatliners isn't a total. Flatliners is a brain-dead remake of a 27-year-old brain dead film about 27-year-olds brain dead enough to take up brain death as a hobby.. The header picture above is far more entertaining than any part of this interminable movie, and contains more effort by the actors than every scene in the entire movie combined Review: The horror ingredients are still part of the package, complete with the expected jump scares, but it's all mediocre. Flatliners. April 22,.

Flatliners (2017) Reviews - Metacriti

'Flatliners' Review Hollywood Reporte

Read the Empire review of Flatliners. Find out everything you need to know about the film from the world's biggest movie destination The existence of this remake, then, is somewhat puzzling. Flatliners itself, as a property, doesn't really have major nostalgic pull.The new cast, headed by Ellen Page and Diego Luna, isn. REVIEW: FLATLINERS is a remake of the 1990 Joel Schumacher cult classic. Love him or hate him, Schumacher was exactly the right person for it. Love him or hate him, Schumacher was exactly the. However, Flatliners 2017 has the life sucked from it by a handful of strange filmmaking choices. One involves a twist, which shifts the spotlight to the least interesting of the flatliners. Another is the fact that Page and Luna - the biggest stars in the film - are weirdly underutilised Film Review: 'Flatliners' Reviewed at AMC Century City, September 29, 2017. Production: A Columbia Pictures presentation in association with Cross Creek Pictures of a Laurence Mark, Further Films.

Flatliners is dull and indecisive: EW review. Caught between genres, the new remake fails to justify itself We live in an age of unnecessary remakes — but the new Flatliners movie,. Although Flatliners is 15 years old, tonight was my first time ever seeing it. I had heard about the movie Flatliners, but there was never a buzz about it to make me go out and rent it or make a point to see it period. Well, I caught it on one of the premium channels and I must say that it was very good Flatliners is a heart-stopping, breathtakingly sumptuous haunted house of a movie that takes off where Dracula and Dante left off and CPR began. Got up in nu-Gothic drag, this goose bump raiser.

Flatliners Movie Review - Common Sense Medi

Flatliners Review: 3 Ups & 8 Downs. A sub-par remake nobody asked for. Share. Tweet. Columbia. The sequel to the 1990 cult classic thriller Flatliners is out in cinemas now, and to the surprise. Flatliners is in dire need of resuscitation.As of Sunday evening, the film is sporting a three percent rating on Rotten Tomatoes, based on 38 reviews. For much of the weekend, it was at zero. The new Flatliners? Best not. You can probably think of all the best and worst puns that we could load into this review without even seeing Flatliners.So, with apologies in advance, there's no. Flatliners (2017, N. A. Oplev), a remake of Joel Schumacher's 1990 film of the same name, is not going to be in creditable circle of exceptions to the above rule in no way. This Doctor Frankenstein's monster, enclosed with paper-stereotyped characters, is copying the most hackneyed motives and patterns of horror films with a wide. Review: 'Flatliners' is an agonizingly boring remake of a movie about the dangers of bringing things back from the dea

Flatliners Movie Review & Film Summary (1990) Roger Eber

  1. Watch Flatliners movie trailer and get the latest cast info, photos, movie review and more on TVGuide.com
  2. FLATLINERS may not be the worst movie I've seen this year, but it is certainly the most lifeless. And as for the age-old question of what happens after death? I suspect the answer is the same for the question of what is at the heart of Hollywood's remake campaign: unending darkness
  3. In Flatliners, five medical students, obsessed by the mystery of what lies beyond the confines of life, embark on a daring and dangerous experiment: by stopping their hearts for short periods of.
  4. Luna plays the token sceptic, and is immediately engaging to the point that he almost pulls the whole enterprise together, though his hairstyle (perhaps in unspoken homage to the original's fabulous array of wild wigs) is a choice almost as poor as his recent decision to work with Woody Allen

Flatliners (2017 film) - Wikipedi

Check out Flatliners (2017) movie review, rating & box Office. Five medical students take up the task of exploring the mystery of what lies beyond life. They start the journey by s..... .View more Instead, the Flatliners play aggressive but melodic old- school, pre-hardcore punk rock songs, enlivened with the occasional dubby bassline or inverted ska rhythm. Comparisonsto London Calling, Sandinista!, early Members, or the Ruts are more productive than comparisons to moreovertly reggae-influenced acts like the Specials or Madness Flatliners may be a remake of a mostly forgotten Joel Schumacher film, but it's a remake that does more than just recycle old ideas -- it reimagines its central themes to make them relevant for a younger generation Flatliners arrives on Blu-ray in AVC encoded 1080p high definition framed at 2.35.1 widescreen and the transfer seems to be identical to the one used by Sony on their 2007 Blu-ray release. This is a pretty dark movie all around, so you can't realistically expect the colors to pop the way that they might on a brighter, more colorful film

Flatliners - Wikipedi

Review: Why the New 'Flatliners' Is Just 'Meh' - The New York

Joel Schumacher's Flatliners epitomizes the sleek thrillers of the 1990s, offering an excessive visual presentation that occupies the space where a substantive commentary should go Flatliners (review) TVJerry October 4, 2017. User Rating: 0 (0 votes) This remake follows the story from the original: a group of medical students decides to stop. Reviews Say the Flatliners Remake Is Dead on Arrival. by Kaila Hale-Stern | 12:09 pm, September 29th, 2017 . Although I'm terrified of horror movies, I watched the. The review embargo is only good until the movie is released wide. Withholding reviews until this late before a movie's release is a HUGE red flag. I expect the movie to be bad in the eyes of he studio Often, it's a way to hush up bad reviews to make sure the public haven't read any negative press before deciding whether to part with their cash. Flatliners, a remake of the 1990 film of the same.

Flatliners Review - IG

Flatliners Review Chris Agar Sep 30, 2017 Flatliners is an unmemorable redux hampered by poor writing and a general lack of thrills that fails to capture the attention of its audience entertainment; REVIEW: Flatliners reboot nails the horror but filmmakers are ultimately gutless. REVIEW: The reboot of this 25-year-old sci-fi classic might feel like a contemporary ride, but it.

Review Flatliners Review Megathread (self.movies) I still don't understand why anyone thought a remake of Flatliners was a good idea. The premise was bad enough. Aug 10, 1990 · Review/Film; Young Doctors Explore the Boundary Between Life and Death Like ''Flatliners,'' the best of Mr. Schumacher's previous films have been glossy ensemble pieces in which members of a. Blade Runner 2049 Review Blade Runner 2049 returns to Philip K. Dick's deep philosophical questions about the nature of humanity, and expressed through a capti... Flatliners Review

Considering Sony's Flatliners remake didn't screen for critics and was already batting 0% on RottenTomatoes after 18 reviews by the time I saw it Friday morning, it isn't that bad. That. Back in 2016, in an interview with Metro, actor Kiefer Sutherland said something that promptly made the rounds in the usual film-news outlets: he claimed Niels Arden Oplev's 2017 Flatliners. Check out the exclusive TVGuide.com movie review and see our movie rating for Flatliners

The reboot no one asked for of a movie no one much remembers has landed and it's dead on arrival, with nothing new to say and no new way to say it. The reboot no one asked for of a movie no one much remembers has landed and it's dead on arrival. Oh, this new and pointless Flatliners. Flatliners is a 2017 American science fiction psychological horror film that was directed by Niels Arden Oplev and written by Ben Ripley.The film serves as a remake of the original 1990 film of the same name, and stars Ellen Page, Diego Luna, Nina Dobrev, James Norton, Kiersey Clemons, and Kiefer Sutherland

The most infuriating thing about Niels Arden Oplev's Flatliners isn't the fact that the film is as dim-witted as a zombie. The film is just so glaringly lazy, resulting in an utter wastage of. Ratings & Reviews. 40. director Niels Arden Oplev turns the conceit into just another excuse for rote haunting, making this Flatliners often indistinguishable from its 2017 thriller peers.. Plugged In helps college student stand-up for his belief Thanks for the great job you do in posting movie and television reviews online. I'm a college freshman and I recently had a confrontational disagreement with my English professor regarding an R-rated film

Flatliners (2017) Review Date: September 30, 2017 Author: backafterthis 0 Comments Joel Schumaker 's movie Flatliners featured a great cast (including a newly minted superstar Julia Roberts ) and was a minor hit Movie reviews for Flatliners. This is where we are as a society where instead of coming up with original ideas, we reboot other films and we don't go that far back for source material. This time, we're going back to 1990 to reboot Flatliners, a film that was released months before I was born Sep 30, 2017 · 'Flatliners' amounts to uninspired, redundant viewing experience: Review. By Ryan Porter Special to the Star. Canadian Ellen Page in a scene from Flatliners. The remake of the 1990.

populær: